Nothing But Blackened Teeth
By: Cassandra Khaw

A Heian-era mansion stands abandoned, its foundations resting on the bones of a bride and its walls packed with the remains of the girls sacrificed to keep her company. It’s the perfect venue for a group of thrill-seeking friends, brought back together to celebrate a wedding. A night of food, drinks, and games quickly spirals into a nightmare as secrets get dragged out and relationships are tested. But the house has secrets too. Lurking in the shadows is the ghost bride with a black smile and a hungry heart. And she gets lonely down there in the dirt. Effortlessly turning the classic haunted house story on its head, Nothing but Blackened Teeth is a sharp and devastating exploration of grief, the parasitic nature of relationships, and the consequences of our actions.

(Summary from back of the book)

Date Started: 1/29/2024 – – Date Finished: 1/29/2024

1 out of 5 stars

Another, I am so sorry my dear book friends but I can’t seem to pick a good book lately. This book also angers me, it doesn’t have a build up, it goes way to quickly. A group of friends go to a haunted house of sorts in Japan, they have some sort of relationship with each other or some sort of tension I just skimmed over their repeating dialogue. Then oh yeah by the way there’s a bride who wants to take one of you with her to the ground to wait with her for her groom to appear. I mean the premise sounds amazing, I was so excited to read this but then was heartbroken.

The cover alone was my hope, I know, I know, I shouldn’t judge a book by its cover. I will probably need to start reading the last page of books before buying again (a little hard when I buy from thriftbooks) I believe the characters ruined it for me. They were incredibly unlikeable, and they didn’t even seem like they liked one another. I wish the author took their time with this book and made it longer. Less metaphors, “4th” wall breaking, bring me a longer horror sequence, more LORE!

You can give it a try, it seems like its a hit or miss with readers (like all books)

Sorry to the author, I hate being harsh, but ….sigh.

** **** **

Up Next:
The Folcroft Ghosts By: Darcy Coates

(click the image to go directly to the review!)

2 responses to “Nothing But Blackened Teeth By: Cassandra Khaw”

  1. This was a miss for me as well! always nice to know it isn’t just me! Good review!

    Like

    1. Thanks, I had such high hopes for this book too.

      Like

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started