Famine
By: Laura Thalassa

Ana da Silva always assumed she’d die young, she just never expected it to be at the hands of Famine, the haunting immortal who once spared her life so many years ago. But if the horseman remembers her at all, he must not care, for when she comes face to face with him for the second time in her life, she’s stabbed and left for dead. Only, she doesn’t quite die. If there’s one thing Famine is good at, it’s cruelty. And how these blighted bastards deserve it. Try as he might, he can’t forget what they once did to him. But when Ana, a ghost from his past, corners him and promises pain for what he so recently did to her, she and her empty threats captivate him, and he decides to keep her around. In spite of themselves, Ana and Famine are drawn to each other. But at the end of the day, the two are enemies. Nothing changes that. Not one kind act, not two. And definitely not a few steamy nights. But enemies or reluctant lovers, if they don’t stop themselves soon, heaven will.

Summary from back of the book.

Date Started: 2/2/2024 – Date Finished: 2/2/2024

3 out of 4 stars
1 out of 5 Spicy

The Quick Review – who want a hurry up and tell me yes or no:

Famine is…..exactly what I imagine the “Nice Guys” think of when they describe “Chads”. There were parts of this book that I enjoyed, that mainly being “Chad” Famine. I am not sure what I liked about it to be sure, I think it is because he is able to dish out the teasing and jokes just as much as the main character. He is still a ruthless, and cruel horseman like his brother before him. Except his start is a little sadder. A little more spice, but still it seemed to quick for it, and meh. I wasn’t impressed. I still felt like this book was just a mash of the first two books together. They all kind of blend, kidnapped a woman, “I can’t be attracted to him, he’s a monster”, sexy time, then happy ending? I am not holding out much hope for the final.

** **** **

The Long Review – For people who like to have a lot of information and some spoilers.

I could not, I am so sorry but I could not like this main female character. Yes we get it sex work was your job, but TONE IT FRICKEN DOWN. That is pretty much all this woman talks or thinks about, the inner monologue that she has is way to sex focused, and to be honest I like sex as much as the next person but if I was being held captive by a psycho with unnatural powers to kill everyone, I would have a little more thoughts in my head then sex. She is a proclaimed prostitute and it just seems like she’s just working another job to survive. EVEN when Famine was like nah, not interested.

I do like that there was no judgement from Famine regarding her body count or her profession. He was just like okay, and? Which was refreshing BUT the dang plot, there still was not enough world building or lore, and it was the same plot as the first two dang books. EXCEPT he didn’t claim her as his wife, and he wasn’t new to human touch. The only difference was poor Famine was tortured when he was capture, and it sounded awful but yet anytime there was a deep moment or someone dying….sigh… our main character was thinking of sex and what she wanted to do to him….seriously….SELF CONTROL!

Their dialogue between one another seemed to be a little over the top and sometimes very much not needed to power on the story. They didn’t feel like a romantic couple, just a friends with benefits type who decided to settle on each other till something better came along.

I was expecting better.

ALSO him deciding yeah I’ll stop killing everyone for her, but I am not giving up my powers for her…..obviously showing he still hates humans and if she dies again. And he can’t save her, he’s going right back to murder.

Couldn’t get into the spice either. Just there.

Now on to the Questions!

  1. AGAIN….why not just one sweep kill everything?
  2. Why Ana? More Lore on what made her special, besides the whole saving him..
  3. No new name Famine?

** ** *** ** **

Up Next: Death By: Laura Thalassa

(click the image to go directly to the review!)

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started